A Copland Tribute
Arr. By Clare Grundman

A Copland Tribute is a collage of passages from the works of Aron Copeland and was created in 1985 to honor the eminent Brooklyn-born composer on his 85th birthday. The piece begins with a statement of 'Fanfare for the Common Man', which was originally a work for brass and percussion, honoring the role of the common man during World War II. Following this brief statement come several passages from Appalachian Spring, a ballet composed for Martha Graham and commissioned the by Elizabeth Coolidge Foundation. The piece concludes with music from two dance episodes from the ballet Rodeo; Buckaroo Holiday and Hoe-down. Originally titled The Courting at Burnt Ranch, Rodeo was created in collabration with choreographer Agnes de Mille. This arrangement by Clare Grundman provides short glimpses of Copland's music.

City of Orange Symphonic Band

Brought to you by:
Web Connections
YOUR Partner for Internet Business
©Web Connections, 1995. The Web Connections logo is a trademark of Web Connections. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Creation Date: May 6, 1995
Last Modified: , 1996